Wombat Books Blog

Wombat Books blog is the place to keep up to date with all the goings-on in the world of Aussie kid's books.

It's Not Easy Being Green

It's Not Easy Being Green

The third book in the Australian Girl series, Annabelle and the Missing Turtles has just been released and you can win a copy!

Subscribe to our blog and leave us a comment with the name you subscribed with below to go into the draw!

The third novel in the Australian Girl series, Annabelle and the Missing Turtles by multi-published children’s author, Rose Inserra, is set for release on 1 November 2013. The series follows the adventures of five main characters racing against time to save the already endangered green sea turtles on Queensland’s coast.

“As a teacher, I wanted to write about stories that empower young girls to strive for real changes and ‘be’ the changes in the world. My favourite quote from Mahatma Ghandi is – ‘Be the change you wish to see in the world.’ I was inspired to write this Australian Girl book because of my commitment to animal welfare and to raise awareness of habitat loss and endangered species in Australia. I hope to encourage young readers to be passionate about protecting our unique and precious Australian environment,” said Rose.

Following on from the second book in the series, Amy and the Wilpena Flood by Claudia Bouma, Annabelle and her four friends go on another exciting adventure with the help of the rainbow necklace. Whilst on a trip to Queensland, the five friends try to solve the mystery of the disappearing turtle population. Nobody seems to know the answer – not even the marine biologists at Marine World. Thanks to their rainbow necklace, the girls are taken back in time and given some very important information about loss of habitats and the changing environment since the last century. 

But will the girls be able to get back in time to save the hatchlings and help organise a rescue operation? The five friends face challenging circumstances, as their commitment to their cause requires teamwork and co-operation from everyone involved. They learn that compassion and bravery are two qualities that can bring about real change in the world.

The Australian Girl series is based on the Australian Girl dolls, inspired by Helen Schofield’s search for quality dolls for her granddaughters.

Selena Ewing, Senior Research Officer at Southern Cross Bioethics Institute, a Founding Director of Women's Forum Australia and the author of Faking It, says of the Australian Girl range, “Our girls are growing up in a world where young girls are pressured to pursue glamour, excessive thinness, and the attention of boys. Research shows this can have devastating consequences for girls' health and development. I find the focus on age-appropriate fun, friendship and diversity in the Australian Girl product range to be very refreshing and in fact desperately needed."

The book’s illustrator, renowned Ginger Meggs cartoonist and stand up comic, Jason Chatfield, has brought the Australian Girl characters to life with his humorous and lively cartoons that serves to enhance the reading experience.

Rose Inserra is an internationally published author of over 60 children’s books on a range of topics – from library resource books to fiction and picture books.  Her olive grove, on the edge of the Victorian High Country, is home to wombats, echidnas, kangaroos, many types of birds, amphibians and reptiles. Rose has been listed in ‘Notable Australian Children’s Books’ and the ‘Environment Award for Children’s Literature in Australia’.

When she is not writing books, Rose runs writing workshops, travels to writing conferences and inspires people to write their books as a writing coach and editor.

Available from all good bookstores or buy online now. Australian Girl Series 2 Book set also available: includes The Rainbow Necklace, Amy and the Wilpena Flood and Annabelle and the Missing Turtles.

Rate this blog entry:
Continue reading
5994 Hits